## \*RUTH NANGLE TROPHY – PERPETUAL

Trust: \$200 (Perpetual) Description: Silver semi-spherical bowl, 160 mm high to lip edge, 240mm in diameter, with raised grape and leaf decorations around serrated lip edge. Mounted on solid stem also adorned with raised grape and leaf decorations, tapering out to stepped footing. Has lions' heads holding rings for handles. Bowl mounted on 130mm high square black base with rectangular winners' inscription plaques attached to faces. Inscription: **RUTH NANGLE** R.M.Y.S. MELBOURNE TO GEELONG Trophy donated for a Winter Series Pursuit Start event instigated History: by Commodore Les. A. Nangle in his wife's name, open to all keel boats on the register of any yacht club. It initially had traditional ties with the football, when Geelong played Collingwood at Geelong and the yachts raced to Geelong where, after the race, crews watched the latter stages of the game. The first event was held July 30, 1971 in atrocious conditions. It was won by Lyle Turnbull with **Halcyon II**, the original skippers and crews being given polar bear badges to wear in honour of being the first 'Long Distance Frostbiters'. Another first for the Royal Melbourne Yacht Squadron. It was not until Winter 1973 that the trophy was donated. This was first won by W. Brown with **Wendy**. Following a grant, the trophy became perpetual in May 1980. In the early 2000s, the trophy was contested for in accordance with V.Y.C. handicap system over a long distance course, later to revert back to its original format to Geelong. Over time the destination of this passage race varied to be Blairegowrie, later to change to Docklands via a bay course to enable Cat 6 yachts to enter the race. In 2014, due to lack of overnight entrants for Docklands, the race returned to a passage race to Safety Beach sailing club. It remained a pursuit passage prior to the Jeannette Turnbull.