Nominations for State and Territory Sailing Awards 2019

Image Source – Australian Sailing

Nominations for State and Territory Sailing Awards now open

Nominations for the 2019 New South Wales/ACT, Queensland, South Australia, Tasmania and Victoria Australian Sailing Awards open today, with applications being accepted across a range of individual and club categories as well as two new categories for 2019.

The awards recognise the outstanding performances of sailors, volunteers, officials and clubs in our states and territories, with winners of the awards eligible to be put forward as nominees for the annual Australian Sailing Awards in October.

This year’s Awards include two new categories, the Sustainability Awards and the SheSails Award. The Sustainability Award has been created to celebrate the effective execution or ongoing delivery of high-impact, highly replicable sustainability initiatives by individuals, teams, crews, classes, clubs or groups around the country. In line with the recent launch of our national female participation brand, the SheSails Award will recognise those who have made remarkable contributions to the development, encouragement, promotion and reinforcement of women’s participation in sport.

The nomination categories include:

  • Male Sailor of the Year   
  • Female Sailor of the Year   
  • Youth Sailor of the Year   
  • Sailor of the Year with a Disability    
  • Sport Promotion Award   
  • Sport Professional Award   
  • Offshore Sailor of the Year Award   
  • Lifetime Achievement Award   
  • Sustainability Award   
  • SheSails Award   
  • Coach of the Year   
  • Instructor of the Year   
  • Official of the Year   
  • Volunteer of the Year
  • Club of the Year   

There are additional state-based Awards, which can be found on the appropriate nomination pages.