90th Stonehaven Cup – RMYS WINNERS OF Otto A. Meik Perpetual Teams Trophy

Over the past few days Royal Brighton Yacht Squadron have been hosting the 90th Stonehaven Cup – the longest continuously contested junior one-design dinghy trophy in Australian yachting. This year is the first time the competition has been conducted using the new RS Quest dinghies.

RMYS have been well represented this year with the following boats and crew competing

  • Kestrel (crew – Jaspar Martin, Oliver Skerritt, Anita La Terra)  
  • Matthew Norton (crew – Jye Preston, Ryan Savage, Carli Preston)
  • Scarlet (crew -Patrick Walby, Nicholas Maria, Aurora Davey)
  • Heather (crew- Alex Ward, Gustav Wahlquist, Lachlan Skerritt)

The Stonehaven Cup is a friendly competition for boys and girls under the age of 19 years who represent their respective participating clubs. The Stonehaven Cup itself is won by an individual boat. They are still racing today so the winner will be announced once all races have been completed.

Clubs may also nominate a team of three boats to contest the Otto A. Meik Perpetual Teams Trophy. Scores for the teams event are calculated from the placings of the team boats in the Stonehaven Cup races, including the invitation races.

Last minute news came through this afternoon from Ron Brown announcing RMYS WON the Otto A. Meik Perpetual Teams Trophy. Be sure to congratulate Ron Brown, Clio Healy and crews when you see them about the club next. Well done to all involved, great achievement.

​For results visit

We look forward to reading a first hand account of the competition from the junior squad next week

Thankyou to Joe Wilding for sending these photos through to RMYS in the meantime